The Spirit of the Lord

Ist Samuel 16:14: And the spirit of the Lord departed from Saul, and was replaced by an unclean spirit.

The spirit of the Lord is the Holy Spirit. While there are some theological reasons why Saul had the Holy Spirit in the first place, and to why the Holy Spirit left him, I’m not sure as to the theological reasons. Most Orthodox Christians do not associate this verse with their daily life.

When I got mentally ill for the first time in February 2006, I just couldn’t survive anymore. My brain was wrecked from lack of sleep, my soul was embarrassed because I couldn’t shut up about my theological beliefs in high school. I had made a lot of enemies at high school.

I think my enemies were glad when I got expelled in 2007 for issues relating to my mental health. The year level co ordinator said to my mother ‘we don’t have the resources to cater for someone with your child’s disability.’

They did me a favor, though I would laugh if my enemies went to hell. It wouldn’t surprise me. What would surprise me is if anybody from my old high school got into heaven.

I’m the surest bet for somebody from state high getting into heaven. The average BSHS student was full of pride and ego. I make fun of that acronym, calling it Bull Shit High School. A lot of the other students there were not too happy about my expulsion either.

When I had my first psychotic breakdown, it felt like the Holy Spirit left me. I was all alone on that cross. Gradually people abandoned me as they could see there was no hope for progress in my life.

I miss some of my friends from that shitty high school. I don’t know whether they are alive or dead. Whatever the case, they will all have to answer to God for how they treated me.

Leave a comment